51st Tennessee Challenge CupThe PGA Professional Team representing the Tennessee Section PGA captured the 51st Annual Tennessee Challenge Cup Matches with a final score of 18 to 14 at Cherokee Country Club in Knoxville, TN. The event, which is jointly conducted by the Tennessee Section PGA and Tennessee Golf Association, annually pits the top 16 Amateurs and top 16 PGA Professionals in the state of Tennessee in a Ryder Cup style format. The morning session on Monday featured eight four-ball matches which resulted in a 4-4 tie going into the afternoon. Foursome matches were split 4-4 to setup an 8-8 tie heading into Tuesday’s singles matches.

On Tuesday the Professionals struck early winning the first three matches of the morning and would claim 10 of the possible 16 singles points. With the 18-14 victory, the Professionals now lead the overall series 30 to 21.

The Professional Team was led by Captain John Wylie, PGA. Wylie was enthusiastic throughout the week and guided his team brilliantly. The Professional Team was selected from the Tennessee PGA’s Professional and Senior Professional Player of Year Points Lists and the Amateur Team was selected from the Tennessee Golf Association’s Amateur and Senior Amateur Player of the Year Points Lists. Each team of 16 includes six seniors and ten regulars. Listed below are the individuals who represented the Professional and Amateur teams.

The TNPGA and the TGA would like to thank Don Jones, PGA and the entire staff at Cherokee Country Club for hosting a great event.

Professional Team

  • Kelvin Burgin, PGA
  • Bobby Cochran, PGA
  • Allen Fennell, PGA
  • Casey Flenniken, PGA
  • Adam Forgey, PGA
  • Buddy Harston, PGA
  • Randy Helton, PGA
  • Tad Holley, PGA
  • Mark Houser, PGA
  • Glenn Hudson, PGA
  • Scott Moran, PGA
  • Braxton Hunter, PGA
  • Jake Reeves, PGA
  • Kevin Walker, PGA
  • Brian Wood, PGA
  • Greg Wyatt, PGA

Amateur Team

  • Lucas Armstrong
  • Warren Cheney
  • Matt Cooper
  • Buzz Fly
  • Jeff Golliher
  • Steve Golliher
  • Ryan Greer
  • Aaron Ingalls
  • Philip Lee
  • Mike Poev
  • Cayman Ratliff
  • Bryan Rodgers
  • David Salyers
  • Jack Smith
  • Ryan Terry
  • Brandon Worley