JACKSON, TN – The next tournament on the TPGA schedule brings us to Jackson, TN for the 53rd Tennessee PGA Professional Championship August 9-11 at Jackson Country Club.  The Championship is known as the premier event for Tennessee Club Professionals.  The historic Jackson Country Club plays host this year and will present a challenge for players with West TN’s version of “Amen Corner” with holes 10, 11, and 12; which are quoted as the hardest three holes Byron Nelson ever played in succession in his career.


DATES: August 9-11, 2021
OFFICIAL NAME: 53rd Tennessee PGA Professional Championship
VENUE: Jackson Country Club – Jackson, TN
PAR/YARDS: 72 – 6,800 yards
PURSE MONEY: $41,000 (winner claims $7,000)
PAST CHAMPIONS: https://bit.ly/3itrXzD
QUALIFYING SPOTS: 4 spots for the 2022 PGA Professional Championship at Omni Barton Creek Resort

SIZE: 56 players
FIELD LIST: https://bit.ly/37owUDz

FIRST ROUND PAIRINGS:https://bit.ly/3jzxF2x


Sunday: Practice Rounds
Monday: Round 1
Tuesday: Round 2
Wednesday: Round 3, Awards Presentation Following


The rankings saw a bit of movement after the Harold Eller Pro-Am where Johan Kok (Nashville, TN) regained the top spot in the Rolex Regular Player of the Year standings over Braxton Hunter (Knoxville, TN).  The Professional Championship is a Level I event where the top-20 finishers will be awarded points ranging from 300 points to first and 12 points to twentieth.  With a tight race at the top here is a look at the current top-10 heading into this week’s 53rd Tennessee PGA Professional Championship.

  1. Johan Kok (Troubadour Golf & Field Club) – 733
  2. Braxton Hunter (Fairways & Greens Golf) – 728
  3. Bobby Cochran (Colonial Country Club) – 668
  4. Ryan Botts (Old Hickory) – 598
  5. Adam Forgey (Heatherhurst Golf Club) – 568
  6. Josh Bevell (Gaylord Springs Golf Links) – 533
  7. Kevin Snell (TN Golf Trail at Henry Horton) – 525
  8. Allie Knight (Fairways & Greens Golf) – 492
  9. Kelvin Burgin (Bear Trace at Cumberland) – 464
  10. Casey Flenniken (Tanasi Golf Course) – 462


Defending champion Johan Kok will look to make history at this year’s Championship.  Kok has won the past four (2017, 2018, 2019, 2020) and will look to tie the record of Joe Campbell and Gibby Gilbert Jr. as the third player to win the tournament five times, but would be the first to do it all in consecutive years.  Kok will have some stiff competition that will be looking to knock him off.  Braxton Hunter has been coming on strong throughout the season and ranks third in birdies for the season with 36.  Hunter will look to stay hot in Jackson this week.  The past two Pro-Ams Casey Flenniken has finished first and second in the professional division recording a round of 64 in both outings.  Flenniken will look to put together more low rounds this week to stay up at the top of the leaderboard.  Past Champions Kelvin Burgin, Walt Chapman, Audie Johnson, Don Jones, Scott Moran, Oliver Peacock, and Loren Personett are also in this year’s field.

Action gets underway at 8:00 A.M. CT the all three tournament days with a single tee starting off No. 1 tee.  After rounds one and two the field will be repaired based on scores with leaders teeing off last.  A trophy presentation by the clubhouse will follow the final round of play.  Attendance is free to the public.